In Search of Our Father’s Garden, We Found Our Own.

I come to the garden alone,
While the dew is still on the roses,
And the voice I hear falling on my ear
The Son of God discloses.

We are almost at the end of our gardening season for this year. Every morning (before school started) I (Kevin) would make a pot of coffee and walk out to the garden where I would assess the overnight growth, give an attempt at an immeasurable thanks for God’s provision and enjoy some prayerful moments with Him as I strode through the garden.

The garden has for the most part been splendid this year. Lack of rain caused us some concern in June so we grabbed the irrigation pipe and pumped water from the pond down to the garden to keep it watered while the skies remained dry.

IMG_6354

The sunflowers turned out better than we ever thought they would. When I sewed them I was unsure how they would turn out since I just threw seeds down. I did not think they would grow with such intensity. Harvesting the seeds will be something for us to learn how and at this point it looks as if the birds have beat us to many of them.

IMG_4868

The first row of corn seemed rather helpless. Although it turned out, they weren’t the best of ears but will do. The potatoes looked good at first until the bugs came to town. I sprayed those and were able to knock a dent in their fortune. Thankfully later in July, we received a few days of rain that gave the thirsty weeds something to quaff.

Okra

The okra has been hearty and the tomatoes have really put out in comparison to last year. Of course this year I added some peat moss to them so that may have been one reason for the multiplicity. However, I did have some trouble with pests of what I thought to be the furry four-legged kind getting into the tomatoes just as they were ripening. I put out a live trap but I did not catch anything. I fenced around the tomatoes but still something was alluding the fencing. After spending some time sitting and watching I was shocked to learn my nemesis was the good ole mockingbird. After successfully scaring them away, they decided it wasn’t worth the trouble so they haven’t been back.

IMG_6336

The cantaloupe, watermelon, pumpkins, sweet potatoes and cow peas are doing great aside from the weeds that have begun to take over since we have been unable to get in there and get some work done.

IMG_6402

So, the garden has been practically a success this year and we are still reaping the harvest from it. It is a lot of work and at times the work is worth it when you walk out to the garden, cut off your food and walk back to the kitchen and cook it up. A little bit of sweat goes a long way at the dinner table plus there is the joy of working with God to plant and water and watch Him do His thing by bringing the growth.

When I was young, my dad attempted to have a garden. With us kids, it was nearly impossible. We simply would not help or if we did we complained about it the whole time. So he decided to forego the garden. It was a lot of work for a third grader picking up rocks. That was pretty much all he would let me do. What kid wants to pick up rocks so the squeaky wheel got the grease and I was allowed to go back to the house.

Now I understand the importance, the joy and the hard work. It is worth it!

About Kevin Riner

child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

