Gardening 101

I (Kevin) am working on my associates degree in biblical studies. However, I never thought I would be working on my gardening degree. When we moved to Blue Creek we knew we would want a garden. I knew it would be a lot of work. To an extent, I enjoy the work. There is a sense of accomplishment when you put a seed in the ground and months later you are picking it to put it on your table. However, feeling accomplished in anything will mean work is involved.

garden

garden

When we planned out our garden we chose to plant potatoes, sweet potatoes, corn, okra, watermelon, cantaloupe, cucumbers, tomatoes, lettuce, carrots, and some herbs. A majority of them grew and provided food. Others… Not so much. It didn’t help that I took out some with the tractor and didn’t cultivate others leaving gaps in the garden because I just decided to clear it out with the tiller.

Every night I work a little or a lot in the garden pulling weeds, picking food or just appreciating what we were able to do. The help from my father-in-law has been priceless. I don’t think I would have gotten as far as we have without it. I’m sure he sits back and laughs or lets us fail in order that we may learn. That’s ok. It is an enjoyable process and experience.

The Morning Glory and Johnson Grass has been my greatest nemesis. Bugs haven’t really been that much of a pest for me. I spend most of my time pulling these two culprits rom my garden. A bucket of sweat is worth a full belly.

I’ve been fighting morning glory the whole time. They are tremendously persistent.

Recently, I was picking okra and, as noted by many others, the wind blows almost constantly in our little piece of Heaven on Earth. Hardly much suffocating from the sun and heat. Don’t get me wrong. It has gotten hot but the wind sure brings a break from the stifling calefaction.  Carrie and I love okra so we planted plenty of it. I’m sure we’ll sicken ourselves of okra before the year is over.

Okra

Okra

We have planted seven rows of corn. One never took off and the other rows I have planted in installments so that they will not all come up at once. We are already seeing the harvest from the first row we planted.           Tomatoes were on our list not necessarily because we like tomatoes. We wanted to make our own chili sauce and/or salsa. So what better way than to learn how with homegrown tomatoes.      

About Kevin Riner

child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

