Sing A Song

Levi loves to sing songs. I wonder where he gets that from. Lately there are two songs he likes to sing a lot.

  • Twinkle Twinkle Little Star
  • Itsy Bitsy Spider

He even does the hand motions for it. It simply blows me away the purity and innocence this young kid has in singing simple songs with so much heart. Not to make this a super spiritual blog post but it just makes me reflect on if  I’m being this honest and heartfelt when I sing to God.

So the other night, I get home from worship practice about 9:00. I hate getting home after he’s already gone to bed. I walk in the house and Carrie had just laid him down and told me to go tell him goodnight. So I put my gear down and walk into his room to hear him say, “Hi Daddy!”

Being called daddy is enough but what came next simply filled my heart to the brim. He asked me to sing him the song of the itsy bitsy spider. So I did and in the dark I could see him making the hand motions. Then he asked me to sing Twinkle Twinkle Little Star. He holds his hands together above his head as if it’s a star. Then… He asks me to sing the Jesus song. I wasn’t sure what he was talking about so I asked him, ‘The Jesus song, Levi?” He said, “Yes!” The only Jesus song I know is Jesus Loves Me. So I sang that one. When I was done, he rolled over and said goodnight Daddy.

Speechless!

About Kevin Riner

child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

