Dunbar Cave (Preparation Hike)

Carrie and I went to Dunbar Cave to hike the Recovery Trail in preparation for our twelve-mile hike we will be doing in one week at Land Between the Lakes. It was a cool 52 degrees and a little windy; a good day for a hike. It had rained the day before but the trail was not all that muddy. It definitely had grown up since the last time I was there a couple of months ago not to mention my nose was telling me that everything was blooming now.

It was a nice brisk hike and I enjoyed every minute of spending time with my wife with no agenda but to walk in the “woods”. If you know Dunbar cave, it’s not really woods, just trees separating the trail from the streets.

When we arrived at the cave after two miles, we hung around for a break and watched a little duck try it’s hardest to get up on the concrete pad but never could. Carrie and I was afraid to touch it in fear it would snap at out fingers so we let it continue to struggle. It really didn’t need up there any way. That’s what it’s momma told me as she bathed herself a few feet away.

The best part of the hike was when I asked Carrie if she was ready to go heading back the way we had just came. She asked if we were going back and I laughed and said yes. We’re doing four miles, not two. She breathed a deep breath because she was ready to go to the car and off we went. Even funnier is not too far down the trail and it splits; one going the Recovery Trail and the other going way of the Short Loop. As I began the turn down the Recovery Trail, she asked if we were not going the Short Loop and again I said, four miles, not two and a half. This is good, I told her, because this helps prepare your mind and body to understand when you think you’re there, you’re not. Lol

It was a fun hike. Her feet hurt a little more than normal and my hips did as well. Not sure what was up with that unless it was the cold. After the hike, we went to get food for our overnight backpacking trip next week. Carrie and I had been weighing our backpacks in preparation and I wanted mine at 30 lb. and hers at 20 lb. After we got all the food in, I had hers at 15 lb. and mine at 35 lb. So I’ll switch five over to her pack and it’ll be perfect.

Every hike I go on rather it be short or long, I get new thoughts and material fo r my book. So no hike is wasted if I am aware of what I’m learning.

LBL, here we come. Can’t wait. Now only if the rain holds, we’ll be in business.

Hiking Food

About Kevin Riner

child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged
This entry was posted in Hiking. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dunbar Cave (Preparation Hike)

Leave a Reply

