Hiking Dunbar Cave Recovery Trail

Last Thursday I hiked the Greenway and by Friday morning I realized I had strained a muscle in my left leg. I also realized I had packed my pack for almost 50 lb. I made a few mistakes by trying to walk too fast because it was cold and I wasn’t wearing enough clothing to keep me warm and I had too heavy of a pack.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA
SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Today I set out to hike the Recovery Trail at Dunbar Cave. It’s called the Recovery Trail because this are was once logged off and so the place is recovering from being cleared off. It was a warm 28 degrees as I started on the trail. The Recovery Trail is 2 miles and the sign says it takes about an hour to hike it. Which was about right for me. According to my Backpacker GPS Trails app (the free lite one) I hiked at about 2 mph at an elevation in +/- 200 feet. This is about what I’ve been doing on my other practice hikes. What made this one different was two things.

  1. My pack was lighter. I took out some extra packing I had in it to make it weigh more (remember I miss calculated on the last hike) so my pack was weighing in at about 30 lb. This was considerably lighter and I could tell while I was out there that it wasn’t such a burden on my back. 
  2. The trail was a real trail and wasn’t concrete. It’s amazing how concrete can do some serous damage to your body. Walking the last two practice hikes my body was hurting all over and this one I wasn’t feeling any pain at all. It was actually comfortable. Because of my strained muscle I could feel it burning just a tad but nothing like it felt the other day.

This was a really good hike. I actually enjoyed it and wished that it was a little further away from civilization. The only thing I don’t like is the constant low hum of the cars on the passing highway.

The trail started off with brisk walk to the trailhead where you could choose to hike the Short Loop or the Recovery Trail. I wanted the long hike. The beginning of the Recovery Trail starts off at a climb and by the time I reached the top of the ridge I was breathing hard. Man I am so out of shape it’s not funny. I started my GPS about half way through because I was so excited to get started I forgot.

Map

 

Upon my ascent of the first hill. I met a hiker coming back towards me. Actually when I met her she was sitting down fixing her shoes. She was quiet. I said hello and she nodded. I almost thought she was homeless at first by the way she was dressed. Still not sure actually. By the time I reached the pines two Asian women were approaching me from behind. I was so mesmerized by the difference in leaving the one area to the pine area that I stopped to take a picture and they happened up on me rather quickly.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

Sorry it’s blurry. Still learning this old digital camera

 

They hiked rather fast I’m sure for exercise and so they moved on rather quickly. Some of the best advice I’ve gotten from other hikers is to hike your own hike meaning go at your own comfortable pace. Most of the hike was on my own. I met four women who were out for  stroll towards the end of the loop. It was then that I was nearing the Swan Lake. I was taking a picture of the cave entrance when this ninja approached me from behind. Well she was asian so she could’ve been a ninja (yes I know I’m stereotyping). She apologized for spooking me and told me she was going to say something but I spooked to early. I saw her shadow as I was taking the picture and jumped.It really startled me for a moment. You never know who or what’s in the woods when you’re out there alone.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

Look closely and you can see the ninja!

I would say it was a really good hike and if LBL is anything like this, I’m really going to enjoy myself. Here are some more pictures I took while I was out there.

 

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

Great scenery going into the pines

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

great walk

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

This is the ridge you start out climbing up to then it descends down

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

Not sure why there is a bridge here unless there is a wet weather spring

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

A view of the lake from the woods

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

coming out of the woods by the lake

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

My pack. I sat here and wrote some of the early manuscript of my book Faith Debugged

 

I also like my walking stick. It’s just that. A stick. I picked this up at the Greenway and been using it since. It’s cheaper!

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Kevin Riner

child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged
This entry was posted in Hiking. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Hiking Dunbar Cave Recovery Trail

  1. Pingback: Hiking in Kamloops | Guiding You Blog

  2. Pingback: Hiking Rowe Woods | Fabulous 50's

  3. Pingback: North/South Trail Hike March 2013 (Day 2) | The Riner Family

  4. Pingback: North/South Trail Hike March 2013 (Day 3) | The Riner Family

  5. Pingback: Dunbar Cave (Preparation Hike) | The Riner Family

Leave a Reply

