Another Practice Hike

Greenway 5

I was supposed to meet with a client this morning but he canceled on me so I decided to take the opportunity to take another practice hike. This time, four miles at the Greenway here in Clarksville. I grabbed my pack and headed out in this cold weather. It was a whopping 28 degrees this morning. The wind made it a little bit more chilly. I popped on a podcast and slung the 40 lb. on my back and started walking.

I walked 2 miles in 45 minutes at about 2-3 mph. I walked a little faster probably due to the fact I was listening to a podcast and not paying attention to my surroundings nor was I listening to my body. When I got to the two-mile marker. I sat my pack down and took about a 7 minute break. I drank some water and listened to the birds. I decided I would put my phone up and not listen to any radio or podcast on the way back to get an idea of the solitude, quietness, and the way I process the hike without anything distorting my thoughts.

Walking alone can be a little more dreary because I’m paying more attention to details of my body simply because my body is more noticeable  than what it would be if I weren’t paying it any attention. Which is a good thing and a bad thing. It keeps me in check to my body but… I hate hearing about it.

I wasn’t paying it much attention on the first two miles but on the way back I noticed my left knee beginning to hurt. I think it was more of muscle soreness that my knee. Also my left calf became sore as well.  I also saw a dirt path leading up one of the hills so I decided to take that way just to get a feel of rigged terrain rather than the paved path. It definitely made my legs cry but it wasn’t too bad going up. I did however realize that after I started walking on flat surface after the climb that I began to feel a little dizzy. Over exertion may have caused vertigo to start-up. It didn’t last long but definitely made me aware that I can’t do too much or I might have a bout with vertigo on the trail.

By the time I finished my shoulders were very tired. I stopped a few times and bent my back a little for relief. My feet became sore and when I got home I realized that just that little walk began to cause a blister on the bottom of my foot. My legs are most definitely tired. I do think when I’m on the trial it will be a slower walk and nicer hike. Plus when Carrie and I go, there will be much to talk about so to keep my mind off the aches and pains. I realize in less than 5 years I’ll be 40 years old. Reality bites!

 

Greenway 1

The path I took on the right

Greenway 2

It goes on and on and on and on and on…

Greenway 3

Some smelly scenery

Greenway 4

Taking a break at the two mile marker

About Kevin Riner

child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged
This entry was posted in Hiking. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Another Practice Hike

Leave a Reply

