Day 21 of 31 Days to Find 31 Ways to Say I Love You

I spent some time over the last few weeks trying to write a song. It’s been a while since I have written one. I’m so hard on myself to see perfection or at least my idea of perfection in my writing that I have not written much lately because I put such a huge heavy burden on myself. But I knew I couldn’t do this 31 Days without writing a song.

Carrie asked me why I haven’t written one in so long and my answer is to write a song for her is just short of writing one for God and that it has to be perfect. It’s not just writing a song and being ok with it. It’s writing one that people can invest in, it says something and it moves a person. That’s difficult and even more when it’s either to or about the person you love the most.

I started out just throwing ideas out there and finding a good melody. Then I chiseled away at the lyrics. Finally I came out with a song called Forever Is Not So Long. The idea is that we do have forever but that doesn’t seem like long enough to spend time and share enough love. Some say time flies when you’re having fun and that is so much a truth so when you’re married to the one God gave you, then time is obliterated. There’s not enough of it.

They say forever’s a long time
They say it goes by so slow
This isn’t about those who doesn’t know love
I want to talk about us and our love
 
Forever is not so long
Time goes by so fast 
And we can’t say
Forever is long enough
 
I know my heart is your
No matter what comes I’m sure
This commitment we have, can not be taken back
Your mine
We’re in this together, you and I forever
All time
 
Forever is not so long
Time goes by so fast
That we can’t say
Forever is long enough
 
Hand in hand, heart to heart, we are
You and I we are one
No slowing time, it goes by so fast
So let’s do what we can to make it last
 
Forever is not so long
Time goes by so fast
That we can’t say
 
Forever is not so long
To love enough
Time goes by so fast
That we can’t say 
Forever is long enough
About Kevin Riner

child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

