Living With Vertigo

Have you ever wanted to spend more time on a circling roller coaster? Do you love just spinning on a merry-go-round? Can you get enough of things that make you dizzy? This is what it feels like to me living with vertigo. I don’t get it all the time. Just occasionally. But when I do, it’s very inebriating. It doesn’t go away for days. It tends to come when I get sick but other times it just comes on its own accord.

I got this checked out when I was a teen but the doctor at the time said nothing could be done. No drugs can help. Nothing can fix it. So here I go living life through a dizzy race.  I’ve been forced to the bed and not able to move. Just lay there and close my eyes. That’s the worse of it though. Most times, I can go about life but without making drastic movements. That’s pretty hard to do when driving in a busy town.

Walking down steps can be dangerous. Driving can be dangerous. Leaning over can be dangerous. Quick movement can be dangerous.

For some unknown reason I got sick yesterday and vertigo slapped me in the face. The ever so feeling of dizziness crept in and now today I have the wonderful job of trying to drive and spray folks house for bugs with a slight dizziness. It makes customer service a challenge.

So I just wanted to write and let everyone know living with vertigo sucks. If you’d like to know how it feels, just play the dizzy bat race about ten times in a day. I’m really hoping Levi didn’t get it. from what I understand, Dad has it so it must be inherited.

About Kevin Riner

child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

