A Nervous Honor

A while back Carrie asked me to get more involved with our family blog. I’m now doing that so you may see more posts coming from me. Hope we can create more dialogue and be more informative for our family back home – Kevin

 

Today I had a great honor of serving a friend in the Xtreme Worship Band and his family. Thomas our drummer’s dad passed away and they were giving him a funeral with military honors. He asked me to sing Amazing Grace, just me and my guitar. I had no intention in singing the full song but just a couple of verses to make it quick. When I woke this morning I really felt like God wanted me to add a fourth verse.

After figuring which one I wanted to do, I practiced it a few times and debated typing cheat sheets to my guitar in case I forgot the lyrics. But I really wanted to step out on faith and allow God to intervene in my memory.

I got to the cemetery and there were military around doing their thing and I started to get real nervous. This was the first time I have ever been asked to sing at a funeral or memorial service much less one with such importance to involve America’s finest. I really wanted to do a great job to bless the family and honor the father.

I walked to the pavilion with my guitar in hand through the rain. The main guy in charge grabbed me by the arm and hastily pushed me to where I needed to stand and said, “This is where you will sing.”

“Yes sir,” I said to him.

The two speakers were very prominent pastors in our community and here was little ole, who ever heard of Kevin, worship leader at Xtreme Church. I waited patiently in the cold while stories were told of the father, laughs were laughed and tears were shed. I was praying the whole time for God not to let me screw it up.

I didn’t!

My hands were frozen. My guitar was threatening to go out of tune. I sweet talked it into blessing the family and making me a proud owner and it played along, no pun intended. Along the third verse my mind went blank on how the next line began but just as I opened my mouth to sing what I wasn’t sure I was to sing, the words spilled out. God delivered in His perfect timing. He’s good at doing that. I just wished He wouldn’t. Lol

Everyone was pleased. I was pleased. I really liked that I had to ask no questions. The Soldier in charge made darn sure everyone knew exactly what to do and where to be. I’m thankful and honored to be asked to be part of someone’s life in such a way.

May God bless the Myers family!

 

Kevin

About Kevin Riner

child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Nervous Honor

  1. Shelly says:

    So proud of you, Kevin! God is using you in mighty ways!

  2. mama says:

    honey ,i am so proud of you.i am sure you did a beautiful job.i thank god every day for my children and grandchildren.i love you very much.god has given me many blessings,but you are one of the very best i could have asked for.love you dearly,mama

Leave a Reply

