Feeling the effects of a bad economy

Well, this will surprise some of you I’m sure. It shocked the shoes off of my feet. I went to work yesterday morning really higher spirited than normal, ready for a long day. When the doctor came in he called me back to his office. He proceded to tell me that he was going to have to let me go due to low patient numbers. I couldn’t believe it. He said it was nothing I did or did not do that if his numbers go back up then he’ll call me back. I told him I can’t wait on that. What I don’t understand is they would come in every day talking about how they believed there wasn’t a problem with the economy. And then he lays me off saying it’s because of the economy! Is he believing it now, having second thoughts maybe!?  He let me go ahead and leave. How could I work out another day in that spirit?!

So I went home devastated and seeking God for answers. I know He has a plan, I just don’t know what it is. I was searching back through my prayer journal yesterday afternoon and came across some prayers over the past few months that I’ve prayed about work. Things like “Lord, I’m trying to hang in there at work, I really am. So Lord if this isn’t where you want me then prepare a way some how for something else. If this is where you’ll have me I’ll stick it out and make it work. But if not prepare a way and means to where you need me. Full time ministry is my heart as well as Kevin’s. Hopefully one day that will come to pass. Some how hopefully soon.” That was on December 1st. “Lord, I’d love to have a job where I look forward to getting up in the mornings. ..Lord make something available that you know I’ll love and enjoy. That was December 4. “Lord why do I enjoy staying at home now. I’m beginning to enjoy work a little-not really though because I’d rather be home on my own time rather than someone else making my hours and determining where I need to be and what I need to do. I  love being at home and it’s not really laziness but it’s just me and You and I enjoy that. That was December 18. On January 7th it was a bad day and this is what I prayed, “They told me today they need to do my 30 eval. and after today I know that’s not going to be good. I don’t think I’ve stood up to what they expected. I have heard no positive from them, no encouragement, nothing at this time. I honestly think they aren’t happy about this. And right now I’m not either. If they let me go-that’s fine. I’d be okay with that right now. I just don’t know what to say or do. I’ve done my best of what I know and I’m trying to do better than that, but I don’t know what they see. So Lord whatever needs to be done, remove me or help me do better and let me have favor there. Whichever you want I’m okay with. I know you’ll provide either way. Favor or let me go. But I don’t know how much longer I can take it. “

So with that said, God has heard my cry, but I know there was a spirit in that place of business that my spirit did not like and I believe that’s why He was leading me to pray those prayers. I don’t understand it really and can’t explain it right now.  But we are hopeful and confident that God hasn’t brought us up here to do His work and have us fall on our face. He is the provider of all our needs and He will provide what we need in this situation whether it be a job for me, our Limu business to grow, or a budget to get us by on Kevin’s income some how.  Kevin had a wonderful encouraging word from the Lord yesterday. Go to his blog at  http://yahwehssong.com/ and read it. It will explain more to you of where we are at and why we know God is in total control and why He has brought us to this point.

Thanks for all your prayers. Know that we do feel them.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Feeling the effects of a bad economy

  1. Craig Patterson says:

    Carrie

    As I was reading through your update this morning I was reminded of January 31, 2000 when I was called into the office at UCAR and was told that I was being downsized but if they needed me they would call me back. It has been 9 years and I still haven’t heard from them but I look back on the path that the Lord has lead me down and I wouldn’t have had it any other way. It is a great opportunity to lean on God and reassure the “old man” that God is absolutely reliable but He does require that we trust him implicitly for every breath of air and that only by His grace do we even get up in the morning. I found great comfort in digging into the Word and finding the promises that are ours through faith, that the Lord provides for the most insignificant of His creation, how much more does He provide for us whom He created in His own image. Use this opportunity to grow in grace and the knowledge of Him who loved us and gave His life for us!

  2. Susan Chilton says:

    Carrie, I can say I know how you feel to some extent because I lost my job as well. I can say I’ve spent more time studing the word and praying since then than I normally would have in a year’s time! It has brought about a different relationship between me and Jesus…continue with your prayers and seeking answers, He is with you. Love you, Susan

Leave a Reply

