Still waiting…

Kevin is enjoying his first week of work. Granted it’s exterminating but the people he works with are really nice and very laid back. So I’m very grateful for that. They seem to do things a little different than what he is used to. He was very thankful that the guy running it actually sits down with him and teaches him how to do things, like paper work correctly. They are very strict when it comes to the state regulations because the state keeps an eye on codes and regulations tight up here and they don’t like to be fined. Plus if it’s your fault and you get fined you have to pay for it!

I on the other hand have beat myself up over that stupid test going on three days now. I guess I’m just more embarrassed and ashamed of myself more than anything. Still no phone call from them. So yesterday I decided to get up off the couch and apply for a few more jobs. Why waste my time, right? So, I got on the Internet found a few on the Clarksville’s newspaper website. One was down across from APSU. So I decided to personally drive over there and drop my resume off. I couldn’t find the dang building. The general area, yes, but no building and the add didn’t have the name of the building just the address. So on my way back home I stopped by our bank because she told me they had a receptionist position open. They informed me that I had to apply on-line and it closes out today (Thursday). Then I stopped by the preschool right down the road from our house. I thought, what the heck right. I do have a degree in Early Childhood Education why not use it and it never hurts. So I stopped by there, no openings but I left it and took an application anyway. When I got home, I applied for the position at the bank and also went to the hospital’s website to see if they had any openings. They had 2 so I applied on-line for those as well. So now it’s just a waiting game. I’m so tired of waiting. Granted it’s been nice staying at home all day, doing what I want to do in the quietness of my own home, but I do want to work. The odds of us making more money up here is very likely. And God wouldn’t ordain us to come up here without having a plan for my career too. So it’s just a matter of time. In my study time this morning I came across a few verses and a few prayers that were very encouraging for me and gave me a little hope and peace as well as a reminder that God was in control of the entire move from the beginning and He still is. So why do I need to try to place my hands back on the control when it’s been going so smoothly with Him doing it all?

He does not have “one size fits all” answers. God’s agenda is always bigger that the immediate circumstances. The immediate circumstances are going to merge with an eternal agenda. (Live A Praying Life)

“For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways,” declares the LORD. “As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than you thoughts” (Isa. 55:8-9).

Gracious God, it’s so hard to wait. To wait for new things to happen in my life. To wait for you to answer my prayers. To wait for the open doors that may lead me into a new way of being. During the time of waiting, it seems that all I can think of is having what it is I am waiting for. At times I feel weary of asking and waiting, and I wonder if you really hear my prayers at all, if you are ignoring me, or if you are simply refusing to give me my heart’s desire. A part of me knows that you want my best, and that your time is not my time, but Lord, it is still so hard to wait. Deepen my trust, O Lord, during the times when my heart longs for what can only come in the fullness of time. Give me a calm assurance that your will for me is grander than anything I could ever imagine. Still my mind and heart in your love so that I am mindful of the grace you are draping around me every single day, every single moment. I ask this for the sake of your love.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Still waiting…

  1. Susan Chilton says:

    Carrie, sweetie, we all want to jump in their at times at get our hands into what God is doing – so don’t beat yourself up, He understands. And most importantly the Holy Spirit spoke to you about it and is reinforcing you with the reminder that God is in control and He has a perfect plan and purpose and knows just where He wants you. We all miss you and Kevin and continue in our prayers for you both! If you two need something that we can help you with, please don’t hesitate to make it known – you are still a part of who we are as a Family of God! Love ya! Susan

Leave a Reply

